RSS Feeds

Advanced search

You are in:


Ardbeg Galileo named World’s Best Single Malt

The World Whiskies Awards took place in London last night at a dinner hosted by Whisky Magazine editor Rob Allanson.

More than 300 whiskies went through three intensive blind tasting rounds for the coveted title of ‘2013 World's Best Whiskies’. The judges were drawn from the best drinks journalists and retailers across the world, with industry representatives made up of master blenders, distillers and brand ambassadors in the final round.

After last year's Japanese domination of the single malt category, Islay's Ardbeg Distillery carried off the top single malt title, returning the crown to Scotland. Japanese whiskies still remained strong in the Blended and Blended Malt categories, and a Master of Malt 40 Years Old liqueur scooped the Liqueur category. A South African whisky featured in the top ranks again this year with Bain's being awared the title of World's Best Grain Whisky.

For a full list of winners of the ‘World Whiskies Awards 2013’ click here.

Whisky Magazine also presented its  Icons of Whisky awards and added industry veterans Richard Paterson, Jim Rutledge, Jimmy Russell, David Grant and David Urquhart to its Hall of Fame, which honours noteworthy individuals who have made a lasting contribution to the world of whisky.

22 March 2013 - Felicity Murray