RSS Feeds

Advanced search

You are in:


CSWWC sparkling wine ‘Oscars’, winners named

The results of the inaugural Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships (CSWWC) have been announced in the UK, with Louis Roederer Cristal Rosé 2002 claiming the ultimate title of Supreme World Champion 2014, among the 30 Trophies awarded by the competition’s judges.

In the first year of the competition, founded by chairman of the judges and global champagne & sparkling wine authority Tom Stevenson, 86 Gold medals were awarded and 99 Silver, with Trophies also being awarded to a further 12 World Champions by origin, 11 World Champions by style, 3 World Champions that offer exceptional value for money and 3 World Champion Magnums by style.

The results were published in September 2014 in The World of Fine Wine magazine and on the CSWWC competition’s website.

The Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships received over 650 entries from 16 different countries in its first year, with the top awards going to wines from Champagne, England, South Africa, Australia, USA, Cava, Chile, Italy and New Zealand.

Working alongside Stevenson in the May 2014 judging process were Finland’s editor of FINE Champagne magazine, Essi Avellan MW, and celebrated Australian sparkling wine consultant, Dr Tony Jordan.

The three tasted all entries blind, including some of the finest and rarest prestige cuvées of champagne, some of which have never entered any wine competition before, according to the organisers.

Stevenson explains: “All the wines submitted were initially tasted and evaluated by origin and style. This ensured that each wine’s medal potential was evaluated according to its own typicity of provenance.

“Within each category of origin, the wines were assessed strictly by style – that is, all the brut nature together all the blanc de blancs, rosé, et cetera.

“Where no Gold medals were awarded, no wine of that style from that provenance could progress any further in the competition; but where there were Gold medal winners, we grouped them together, demoted any that did not stand shoulder to shoulder with the rest, and chose the Best in Class.”

A taste-off decided the World Champion trophy for each country or appellation, and then the Best in Class winners from all over the world were grouped together by style to decide those World Champions.

“We also rewarded the best supermarket champagne and the greatest value champagne and greatest value sparkling wine with World Champion trophies,” says Stevenson.

A full list of winners is available on the CSWWC competition website

Entries for the 2015 Champagne & Sparkling Wine World Championships will open in December 2014.


Above: CSWWC competition judge Dr Tony Jordan, from Australia, is one of the world’s most highly regarded sparkling wine consultants

16 September 2014 - David Longfield