RSS Feeds

Advanced search

You are in:


SPECIAL REPORT: Icons of Whisky Rest of World

Whisky Magazine’s Icons of Whisky Awards recognise and celebrate the finest companies and individuals in the whisky industry. With the America and Scotland regional winners already announced, the time has come to reveal those receiving an award in the Rest of World stage. Regional winners of each category will now battle it out against each other for the overall Global title, judged by the magazine’s expert editorial panel and announced at the Whisky Magazine Awards dinner in London on 17 March 2016.

With new categories for 2016, including Master Distiller / Master Blender, Travel Retailer, World Whisky Ambassador and Supermarket, there is opportunity for many sectors of the industry to be rewarded for their contribution.

Rupert Wheeler, managing editor and chairman of the Icons of Whisky says: “The whisky industry is expanding worldwide with many new distilleries being planned to fulfil demand. These awards are in recognition of all those exceptional companies and individuals who are working hard to make their brand different and engaging. I look forward to presenting the overall Global winners in March.”



Distiller of the year Sponsored by Glencairn Crystal

Winner: The Nikka Whisky Distilling Company (Japan)

Highly Commended: Tullamore D.E.W. Distillery (Ireland)


Brand Innovator of the year Sponsored by Multi Packaging Solutions

Winner: Compass Box (England)

Highly Commended: Kavalan Distillery (Taiwan)


Visitor Attraction of the year Sponsored by Christie’s

Winner: Teeling Whiskey Company (Ireland)

Highly Commended: Yoichi Distillery (Japan)


Craft Producer of the year Sponsored by Wade

Winner: Still Waters Distillery (Canada)

Highly Commended: Glendalough Distillery (Ireland) and The Owl Distillery (Belgium)


Master Distiller / Master Blender of the year Sponsored by Ian Burnett Highland Chocolatier

Winner: Andy Watts – The James Sedgwick Distillery (South Africa)

Highly Commended: Shinji Fukuyo – Suntory Spirits (Japan)


Distillery Manager of the year Sponsored by Broxburn Properties

Winner: Koichi Nishikawa – Yoichi Distillery (Japan)

Highly Commended: Hugh Gaynor – Kilbeggan Distillery (Ireland)


World Whisky Brand Ambassador of the year

Winner: Ashok Chokalingam – Amrut Distilleries (India)

Highly Commended: Matt Jones – Beam Suntory (Canada)


Irish Whiskey Brand Ambassador of the year

Winner: John Quinn – Tullamore D.E.W. (Ireland)

Highly Commended: Stephen Teeling – Teeling Whiskey Company (Ireland)


Scotch Whisky Brand Ambassador of the year Sponsored by Procurus

Winner: Elizabeth Havers – William Grant & Sons (Canada)

Highly Commended: James Goggin – Maverick Drinks (England)


American Whiskey Brand Ambassador of the year

Winner: James Goggin – Maverick Drinks (England)

Highly Commended: Matt Jones – Beam Suntory (Canada)


Visitor Attraction Manager of the year

Winner: Mary Hensey – Tullamore D.E.W. (Ireland)

Highly Commended: David McCabe – Irish Whiskey Academy (Ireland)


Multiple Outlets Retailer of the year Sponsored by Loch Ness Water

Winner: La Maison du Whisky (France)

Highly Commended: Picardi Rebel (South Africa) and Vom Fass (Germany)


Single Outlet Retailer of the year

Winner: Celtic Whiskey Shop (Ireland)

Highly Commended: WhiskyBrother (South Africa) and Kensington Wine Market (Canada)


Online Retailer of the year

Winner: Master of Malt (England) –

Highly Commended: Dan Murphy’s (Australia) – and Lion’s Whisky (Italy) –


Travel Retailer of the year

Winner: DFS Group – Changi Airport (Singapore)

Highly Commended: Aer Rianta International – Dublin Airport (Ireland) and World of Whiskies, London Heathrow Airport (England)


Supermarket of the year

Winner: Sainsbury’s (England)

Highly Commended: Waitrose (England)


2 February 2016 - Rebecca Sterritt Paragraph Publishing, content manager